The Many Tales of Camelot

It isn’t until last night that I realized just how much King Arthur has been a part of my life. There was The Sword in the Stone that I watched numerous times as a child. Then, there was Monty Python and the Holy Grail that we all loved in high school. I was lucky enough to see Spamalot in my early twenties, and then last night I saw the musical, Camelot for the first time. I am ashamed to admit that I didn’t know this musical existed until recently, but thrilled to say that I have now been able to experience it.

Don't you want to watch this again? I do!
Don’t you want to watch this again? I do!
And this??
And this??
And, this is another musical everyone should make an effort to see.
And, this is another musical everyone should make an effort to see.

After a very busy day of errands and baby duty yesterday, I was relieved to get away for a few hours and head downtown all dressed up to see another Broadway show at Tennessee Performing Arts Center. This place is starting to feel like a second home, and I am not complaining. Between the Broadway shows, the ballets and the myriad of other events I am making the drive to this theatre very often. Nashville is lucky to have such a nice theatre and the opportunity to see so many shows.

camelot

Anyways, I’ve gone off track now. Back to Camelot! Camelot the musical is based off of T. H. White‘s novel The Once and Future KingIt tells the story of Arthur, how he becomes king, falls in love with the beautiful Guenevere, learns from Merlin, attempts world peace and is eventually betrayed by everyone he loves. It’s actually fairly heartbreaking. It has just enough laughs to keep it somewhat light-hearted and fun, but I left feeling sad for Arthur. I wanted to hug him, pat his head and say “there, there, it will all be alright”.

OH, what I would do to see Julie Andrews perform...
OH, what I would do to see Julie Andrews perform…

That isn’t to say, I did not enjoy the show. I loved it. While it’s slightly old fashion (Hello! Julie Andrews and Richard Burton originated the roles!), it remains classic. War & peace, men in tights, magic tricks, love triangles, bloodshed and dysfunctional families never get old. Adam Grabau, who plays King Arthur, is phenomenal! He began the show with a passionate and almost frightening speech, but quickly transformed to a clueless funny young King. I couldn’t get enough of his character. I’d say he stole the show, but the local boy at the end, who played Tom of Warwick, was pretty impressive.

The show brought back many fond memories of the various other forms of King Arthur’s tale that I grew up loving. Now, I have one more version of Camelot to enjoy!

If you are planning to see the show head to TPAC’s website for more info. If you aren’t local then visit the Camelot National Tour’s website for cities and dates.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

