New Friend Friday: Meet Katy

Okay this is very exciting for me… About a year ago I came across a random blog post on Facebook and thought it was hysterical and knew I just found a new blog to follow. After reading it I immediately hit that little “about me” icon because I had to know who this writer was that was the exact right amount of wit and sarcasm. MUCH to my surprise I learned that the author was my elementary/middle school BFF, Katy! (Actually she was my BOFF, but I can’t tell you what the ‘o’ stands for due to some sort of first grade oath).

Aww, aren't we adorable?
Aww, aren’t we adorable?

Katy was the kind of friend who always spoke her mind, taught me all about sarcasm (my Mom really appreciates that BTW) knew the cool music to listen to (she introduced me to Presidents of the United States of America when we were 11),she had my back no matter what (out of her way, mean girls!), she was the first and youngest vegetarian I ever knew (which is some sort of miracle considering we grew up in Texas) and she’s basically the exact same person. Anyways, we kind of grew apart in high school, as friends often do, but we’ve managed to keep in touch over the years. We met up in NYC a couple of years ago and now we stalk each other on Facebook and I just wish we lived closer to each other so we could actually hangout.

That's us on the upper left at my 3rd grade slumber party.
That’s us on the upper left at my 3rd grade slumber party.

Today, I get to introduce her and her blog to you! Please get to know my BOFF, Katy!

katy
a much more recent photo
Tell us a little about yourself.
My name is Katy. I’m a big nerd and I am constantly making completely normal situations weird and awkward. I live in Austin with my boyfriend and derpy dog who is also making situations awkward. Like the other day he tried to run from the shadow of an overhead bird and almost dragged me into oncoming traffic. So.. yeah. I guess that about sums me up
What is your blog, Awkward Burpees, all about? 
Me, my wonderful city and my journey to get fit, stay fit and the ups and downs of it all. I try to serve this up with a little humor because I love to laugh. I feel like finding the light side makes a writer more relatable, especially if it’s a topic not everyone is super into- like fitness. Like, not everyone is going to understand the complexity of holding crow pose, but everyone gets that it’s hard not to fart in yoga. Oh and all the uncomfortable situations I get myself into (like farting in yoga and faking a coughing coughing fit try to cover it up)
What convinced you to start blogging? 
Um…remember Myspace? I used to write these bulletin posts on there about ridiculous fashion disasters and it always got such positive feedback that it lead me to start a personal blog. And then my interest turned more from fashion to fitness.
So you’re a Beachbody Coach…whats that all about? 
Beachbody coaching is the FUNNEST! I get to spend my free time advising people on what workout programs might work for them which I spend a lot of time doing anyway. And then when they start a program I get to be their cheerleader. It’s kind of exhilarating. And the beachbody programs are LEGIT, y’all. They are products that I’m happy to be associated with. When people hear Insanity or P90X they know you’re not talking about some fly-by-night, get-skinny-quick scam. Also, the community. Every single other BBcoach I talk to is basically the nicest person I’ve ever met in the world. I love the positive energy
You work, workout, blog, coach, have a life and a boyfriend…that’s a lot. How do you manage everything without losing your mind? 
Well, working out you just have to make it a priority. And if that means setting your alarm clock for 4:40 am some days (ugh) that’s what you got to do. Also, I am extremely lucky to have the support of my boyfriend in everything I do. He works out with me and if he doesn’t that day he makes sure to give me my space so I can. He reads my blogs and tells me he’s proud of me. Any new workout I want to try, job I want to apply for, ambitious recipe I try to cook- he’s always got my back. He’s just so, so supportive and I’m so lucky to have him.
When/if you do lose your mind, what do you do to relieve the stress? 
Netflixing. Some people meditate. I watch “Medium” for 5 hours straight.
Tell us a little about your British boyfriend, we don’t all get to date guys with great accents!
I don’t know if you’re aware- being American- but the world cup is going on right now. I know so much more about soccer than I did 4 years ago! Also, don’t call it soccer when you’re in England!
We have pretty much overcome the language barrier now. There’s a lot of slang that just hasn’t made it across the pond yet. Like when we first started dating he called something “the tits”. The conversation had nothing to do with anatomy so I was a little confused
Tips for busy people wanting to get healthy? 
Find the time to meal prep. Find the 30 minutes a day to workout. It’s there. Wake up earlier. Make all your meals for the week on your day off. There are always excuses not to do something. Finding the time to make healthy meals and eat well is an investment in your future! I saw something- a coffee mug that said “You have just as many hours in the day as Beyonce”.
Fav vegetarian recipe? 
I could eat (drink?) green smoothies for breakfast, lunch & dinner. That and stuffed portobella mushrooms. Shut up. Just shut up right now and go make one. Spectacular, aren’t they?
Something you want readers to know about you? 
I cannot tell time on those wrist watches with hands but no numbers.
Best beauty product? 
My dermatologist told me not to use it anymore (I have like overly redonkulous cystic acne that has not gotten the memo that I’m not freaking 16 anymore!!!) but I love, love, love Clean and Clear deep action cleanser. It makes my face feel like Christmas morning sprinkled in fairy dust. It’s especially good for helping me wake up in the morning for those early morning workouts.
Most common color in your closet? 
 I had to go to my closet and look. I thought it was going to be mustard, but it was black. How boring. AND now I’m depressed
Most embarrassing song in iPod? 
The entire Britney Spears “Femme Fatale” album. Ugh. I just can’t fight it anymore
Finish this sentence: My dream vacation would….
be on a magical beach where calories, hangovers and underboob sweat don’t exist
Thank you, Katy!
Alright, people go check her out at Awkward Burpees and give her a like on Facebook (she posts funny stuff, I promise!).
Cheers!
Leave a Reply

