My Postnatal Workout Plan

Like many new Moms, I’m anxious to get back to my normal body again. I LOVED being pregnant, seriously, it made me feel awesome 99% of the time. I felt so beautiful. My skin was clear, my hair was thick and shiny, my nails were long, my anxiety was gone and I don’t know…there’s just something about carrying around a little life inside of you that makes you feel like a badass. I worked very hard to remain fit and healthy during pregnancy too.

Woop, woop! Still working out! It's not easy, but it's worth it!

I worked out 6 days a week. I even created several “10 Minute Prenatal Workouts” here. I ate mostly healthy and was in a great state of mine. Unfortunately, I still had a very difficult delivery and an awful recovery, but it would have been even worse if I hadn’t been so proactive during the pregnancy. I thought I’d be getting back into fighting shape before now, but who could have foreseen such a traumatic first month? Now, at 6 weeks postpartum, I am released and feeling SO much better!

I’m still battling a few health concerns, but I’ll talk more on that another time. For now, let’s talk exercise! I started doing yoga a few times a week a couple of weeks ago, and I even did one day of Insanity with Husband over the weekend…just to test my cardio and get a feel for it again. It was incredibly hard! Yesterday, I officially started Focus T25 by Sean T.

IMG_20140317_123525
6 weeks postpartum

Focus T25 is an intense workout that is only 25 minutes a day. I LOVE Sean T and have already completed Insanity and Asylum Volumes 1 & 2, so I figure this is the perfect postpartum workout. It’s challenging, but offers modifications, and I can squeeze it in while Luna naps and still have time to shower. I had a little bit of doubt before starting because 25 minutes just seems too short to get in as good of a workout as Insanity, but after only 2 days I’m sold!

IMG_20140317_124011

Six weeks off and all the medication and downtime I’ve had has certainly had its toll. My cardio is horrible! And, holy cow are my legs sore! I love it though, being sore makes me feel like I really did something. I’ve had to do a few modifications, but I don’t think I’ll have to for too long. It’s nice that modifications are even offered.

Husband is doing it with me which helps A LOT. We are very competitive and keep each other motivated. I can’t wait to see our results at the end of the program. (I took pics of him too, but he would be less than happy if I shared them with you.) While Focus T25 will be my main workout, I don’t think it will be the only thing we do. I’m going to try to squeeze in yoga a couple of times a week. Plus, we are just an active family anyways, so hiking, walks around the park and dancing around the house will be happening often, I’m sure.

I’ll update you on our progress every couple of weeks or so. In a couple of days, I’ll be writing about my new healthy eating plan too. I’m going to see how a few changes will affect my anxiety and other health issues over the next few months. Wish me luck!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “My Postnatal Workout Plan”

Leave a Reply

