Potassium Punch

One of my favorite restaurants in Nashville is Wild Cow. It’s a vegetarian restaurant and it’s delish. The have lots of smoothies (vegan style) on their menu, one of my favorite being the Potassium Punch. The menu says it includes banana, avocado, kale and coconut water. Simple enough…so simple that I decided to try making it at home.

close up

 

The only problem is that the Wild Cow menu does not state how much of each ingredient they use. I had to guess and play around with the fruits and veggies until it tasted right. I used one banana, one 16.9 oz container of coconut water, 1-2 leaves of kale and half an avocado. I also added flaxseed and chia seeds to mine because I had them and I figured, why not?

ingredients
woops, misspelled avocado!

Then, I just blended it up…

blender

And, voila! Delicious and healthy smoothie!

potassium punch

After this batch I added lemon and it made it even better! The little zing it added was a nice and needed touch. Any of you have a good smoothie recipe you like to make at home? I’ve been smoothie crazy lately!

OH and BTW, my Dad’s surgery went really well! They got the whole tumor out, they are 99% sure it’s benign and it went much faster than predicted. The recovery is going to be long, and it’s pretty painful so far, so keep him in your thoughts and prayers. Thank you all SO MUCH for the MANY kind messages I received all day yesterday. It truly made a difference!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

