Review of Sister Act The Musical

souveniers

About a week ago I got asked to review Sister Act The Musical at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center in Nashville. When I got the email I was pretty stoked because I never got to see the show on Broadway when we were living in New York and because Husband and I would get to go together and have a little date night. Then, I realized that our first “date night” since Luna’s birth also meant our first time to leave Luna with someone else.

Luckily, my Mom-in-law lives close and is very willing to keep Luna, but it still was not easy to leave her. Not. At. All.

We arrived early to check out the scene, the souvenirs and to read through our playbills. I always like to get to know the actors before the show starts.

me audience 20140311_192920

I remember loving Sister Act the movie and watching it numerous times growing up, yet I barely remember what happened in the movie. I decided not to watch it and refresh my memory before the show because I didn’t want to be bothered by any differences. I’m happy to say that the only difference I noticed is that the music in the movie is not used in the play. In fact, the play has all original music by Alan Menken (a disney legend!).

The music was great! Every song was catchy and fun and the singing was fantastic. The show was cute and entertaining for sure. It wasn’t my new favorite, but I enjoyed watching the nuns sing and dance. I especially enjoyed the priest’s performances! Honestly, it had everything you’d expect in a broadway show…bedazzled costumes, great songs, impressive sets, some dancing and a huge finale. I don’t think anyone would be disappointed (unless you’re expecting an exact replica of the movie).

The only downside is that the story is a little dated and there aren’t any great dance numbers. Don’t expect to hear any incredibly witty jokes, just expect some good R&B/Gospel music being belted out by outrageous nuns.

Personally, I would have enjoyed the show much more if I wasn’t freaking out about leaving Luna at home. I called to check on her during intermission…she was of course crying, which made me cry. I actually begged Husband to take me home, but he refused. I never doubted that Luna would be fine, or that my Mom-in-law could care for her, I just wanted to be with her. It’s not easy to leave your baby!

Anyways, if you are interested in seeing Sister Act in Nashville sometime between now and March 16th then get your tickets here. If you don’t live in the Nashville area then check out the tour schedule here.

more me

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

