Welcome to the Third Trimester!

28 weeks

Today I am 28 weeks and 2 days (or 7 months) into my pregnancy. I am officially in the home stretch and I CANNOT believe we have less than 12 weeks until my due date! It seems so close, but also so far away…hopefully she stays put for the majority of her time left because we still have a lot of preparations to make. Besides finishing the nursery, I just need to be ready to be an actual Mother. I have a feeling it will be slightly different from raising a dog and a cat.

Here’s the updates on me and my bigger-than-ever bump! I thought I wasn’t that big, but after looking at these pictures I am now fully aware of just how large my belly is…very!

Total weight gain? 13 pounds, I think.

28weeks

Sleep? It’s here and there. Some nights are awesome, others are horrific. If it’s a bad night it’s because I just cannot get comfortable or my heartburn keeps me from lying flat.

What am I enjoying? I still love feeling and watching her move, there is nothing cooler or crazier. Now I am able to guess what body part is moving, or which is jabbing me in the ribs! I’m also enjoying the fact that it is beyond obvious that I am pregnant, so complete strangers hold the door open for me and ask me all about how I’m feeling and what I’m having.

What I miss the most? having abs. Sometimes I forget how large I am and I get a bit of a shock when I look in the mirror.

Doesn't look so big from the front...
Doesn’t look so big from the front…

Emotions? Still going strong! Every once in a while I get a little nervous thinking about the delivery and bringing an actual baby home, but nothing out of the ordinary. This pregnancy has done miracles for my nerves.

Cravings: Pretty much anything edible. One thing I have not wanted lately is eggs. I eat eggs almost every morning, but over the last couple of weeks the thought of eggs makes me want to hurl.

Belly Button? It is out there, like way out there!

Wedding rings? Still on. I’ve tried to be extra careful with my salt intake, and so far I have not been swollen at all.

Looking forward to? Finishing the nursery, although it may have to wait until after our showers.

Baby movement? Wow, she is one active little girl. If she moves as much when she’s born as she does now than we are in trouble!

Exercise? I am still staying active 6 days a week. Husband has been training for a 5 mile Thanksgiving Day race, so we have only been doing the Asylum on rainy days. When he runs, I either walk, do yoga, Pilates or whatever else sounds like fun. Yesterday I actually went swimming with my Mother-in-law. She swims everyday…I do not. I managed to swim 13 laps, but she swam 22. It was a crazy good workout and I am feeling it today. Oh, and if you are pregnant, and want to feel not pregnant, then go for a swim!

Overall, I am feeling a lot heavier and having trouble moving like a normal person, but mostly I feel good. Oh and this little girl loves to put as much pressure as possible on my right ribs. I am starting to think she has bruised them. The day she drops will be a glorious day. So many things to look forward to!

7months

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Welcome to the Third Trimester!”

  1. Congrats on making it to the last leg of pregnancy! I’m 7 1/2 months and can’t believe there’s only 9 weeks left!
    Best wishes for a happy 12 weeks to come!
    -T

Leave a Reply

