Hiking and Autumn Leaves

Over the weekend Husband and I decided we had to go on a hike. The leaves here, in Tennessee, are in their prime. I can’t go anywhere without wanting to pull over and take pictures. I grew up in Southeast Texas where we have two seasons…summer and not-so-summery. During the winter the leaves go from green to brown and instantly fall leaving dead looking trees and no snow to liven them up. When I was young I dreamt of traveling to places where leaves actually change colors and now I just can’t get over it. It’s soooo pretty!

I made Husband pull over as we drove to the hiking trail so I could snap a photo.
I made Husband pull over as we drove to the hiking trail so I could snap a photo.

We are lucky enough to live near lots of beautiful hiking trails and decided to try the Garrison Creek Trail, which is only 15 minutes from our house and in Leiper’s Fork. Leiper’s Fork, a historic rural village is basically across the street from us. This old adorable town is located on the Natchez Trace, which is a National Park Service Unit, and is GORGEOUS! Β It is impossible to drive down the Natchez Trace and not see tourists, photographers and hikers exploring and taking photos, and we were right there with them.

natchez trace

The "lookout" onto Leiper's Fork Bridge on the Natchez Tree.
The “lookout” onto Leiper’s Fork Bridge on the Natchez Tree.

me and belle

View from the Leiper's Fork Bridge.
View from the Leiper’s Fork Bridge.

We hike through the woods on an almost invisible trail. The storm the night before left the trails covered in dead leaves and mud so we were mostly guessing where we were hiking. The hike lasted for maybe an hour. It was really nice and beautiful, but HOLY COW, I was exhausted! I am still doing InsanityΒ so I thought I was in decent shape, but the uphill sections of the trails left me out of breath and needing a break. Husband had to actually help me at one point.

walking me and pete 25 weeks

I may have been worn out, but I still enjoyed the hike. Belle was the happiest little dog. She got to run around chasing sticks without a leash, and so did Husband. Sometimes, we just walked quietly in awe of the fall colors around us.

model dog husband hiking sunshine dog

We headed back before the sun went down because otherwise we never would have made it back to our car. Even in the sunlight we almost got lost. I’m glad we got in a hike now, before it gets dark at 5 o’clock and the it’s too cold to enjoy it. What are the chances the rest of November will be this nice?

camo belle leaves between

Happy Hiking!

Cheers!

One thought on “Hiking and Autumn Leaves”

Leave a Reply

