Ten Weeks….or so…

10 weeks bump

Okay, okay I suck at writing while traveling. In my defense our hotel in Chicago didn’t even have wi-fi so blogging was completely out of my hands. Once again, I’m back with way too much too share. I wrote this post a week ago, but am just now able to post it.

preggo!

I don’t want to write about every single week of pregnancy, but I’m happy to share some milestones along the way. 10 weeks seems like our first real milestone. We heard the heartbeat, the doctor says everything is a perfect as can be and the world now knows we are expecting our first bambino.

10 weeks

 Since I am was ten weeks, I might as well share my Top Ten Things I’ve Discovered During the First Ten Weeks.

  1. I am soooo tired. Everyone says that the first trimester makes you exhausted all the time, but I honestly thought I’d be okay. I am used to running on fumes and often manage very well with little to no sleep. But, this…this is a different kind of tired. I have had to take naps! I never nap. Even as a small child I used to lie on my red and blue mat at daycare counting the blocks until my teacher finally announced that nap time was over. Now, it takes all of my energy just to type this sentence. While taking my “10 week photo” at the top, Husband kept saying “Your eyes look too tired”.
  2. Speaking of not having energy. I am not drinking coffee. I am rarely drinking coffee. All of my pregnancy books say I can have 200mg a day, which is basically a cup, half a cup if I’m at Starbucks. I try to abstain completely, but it has been hard, like really hard.
  3. I consider myself incredibly lucky because I have not thrown up. However, there has been lots of nausea. Most foods have lost their appeal. The only thing I crave is cheese and beef (neither of which I can eat).  If I go even two hours without eating something small I feel HORRIBLE. Eating often is the only way to ward off nausea.
  4. Husband is even more wonderful than I thought. He will get me crackers and ginger ale the second I feel sick. He makes ramen noodles at midnight when it’s the only thing I want. He encourages me to take it easy and never makes me feel guilty for accidentally falling asleep while “working”. He once went grocery shopping at 10pm so we could make homemade chili at 11pm in July. When I asked him why he was being so nice, he simply said, “Well, you’re pregnant aren’t you?”
  5. Husband is SO annoying. Apparently, being pregnant makes Husband snore, smack, hum, tap, fidget and do a myriad of other annoying habits. (I’ve also heard that pregnancy makes women more irritable, but I’ve yet to see any signs of that.)
  6. I cry A LOT. I am already a sensitive person who cries at anything sentimental, but now it’s a bit ridiculous. During “the red wedding” episode of Game of Thrones I cried for so long and so hard that Husband became concerned. One night Husband asked me to climb a ladder while painting, and I cried….because he wanted me to climb a ladder. Anything and everything seems to bring tears to my eyes.
  7. Pregnancy is the greatest excuse to not do anything I don’t want to do. “Sorry I can’t….I’m too tired, too nauseous, too emotional, too hot, too (insert pregnancy symptom here). It’s awesome.
  8. People are extra nice to you once they find out you’re pregnant. I am loving every minute of it.
  9. Pregnancy is also the best reason to be healthy. Working out and eating healthy is probably more important now than ever. It’s also harder than ever. With all the nausea and exhaustion the last thing I want to do is eat a salad and go for a run, but I’m doing my best. I want to do this right.
  10. My dreams are crazier than normal. I have always had crazy surreal and ridiculous dreams, but lately they are so outlandish that Amanda Bynes would be freaked out.

Overall, pregnancy has been fun, so far. I am loving the changes, the planning and the special attention. Less than 29 weeks until Hilarie Jr. arrives!

Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Ten Weeks….or so…”

  1. You look so beautiful in your 10 wk pic. Don’t worry that tiredness will go away (then return back! Lol) Sounds like Peter is taking great care of you but no surprise there 🙂 I remember I wanted dill pickle slices really bad and I didn’t want to go to the store so I called Scott at work to gripe about it…his sweet self picked some up on the way home (during the worst time to go because it’s so busy) Pregnancy definitely has its perks..ha ha! Can’t wait to read about your other milestones!

Leave a Reply

