Quidam Reivew

Quidam is a traveling Cirque Du Soleil show about a young girl named Zoe. Zoe is bored, looking for adventure and something outside of her mundane life. Her parents ignore her and are wrapped up in their own lives. Her Father is lost in the newspaper. Her Mother is distant and consumed in her own thoughts. Zoe becomes lost in her own imagination where she meets new crazy characters who teach her and her family to be free and to become a family again.

Most Cirque story-lines are hard to follow, this one is only slightly easier than most. The acts in Quidam are all fantastic, but also done in Cirque shows we’ve previously seen. Except maybe the jump rope act…I don’t think I’ve seen jumping rope in any other Cirque shows.

skippingropes

 

Husband and I arrived to the Bridgestone Arena a few hours after watching the rehearsal (and this time I remembered the correct footwear). Our seats were perfect, minus the guy sitting behind me who felt the need to give everyone around him a play-by-play of the entire show. I loved the show, but Husband was a little tired of the similar acts he has seen several times already. Like the German Wheel…

bridgestone our seats

germanwheel2

 

And the muscle-bound “statue” act…

handtohand

I, on the other hand, can never get over this act! These people must be magicians! How on Earth is anyone really this strong!?!?!

The aerial hoops, the aerial silk contortionists, the diabolos and the hand balancer have also been done before, but they were extra impressive in Quidam. “The Diabolos”, or the Chinese yo-yo, was sooooooo good! I may have like this performer better than the little girls who perform in La Nouba! He was so fast and smooth that I could barely tell he was using the Chinese yo-yo at all.

cerceaux

The Banquine act is a wild acrobatic routine. These performers build insane pyramids and then proceed to throw the most advanced tricks from one persons hands into another. It kind of looks like Olympic floor routines, crossed with a cheerleading competition with a dash of modern dance.

banquine2

The act that surprised me the most was the Clown. The Clown was the funniest act I have ever seen in a Cirque show, and I  don’t even like clowns. He pulled 4 random people from the audience on stage and forced them to perform for a movie he was supposedly filming. I don’t want to give away the story or the jokes, but I will tell you that I was laughing so hard I was in tears.

clown

 

Overall, Quidam was not my favorite Cirque show, but it was still a show worth seeing. I’ve never seen a Cirque show I didn’t love. If you are in the Nashville area this weekend then checkout tickets prices here. If you are not in Nashville, then checkout the  tour schedule here. Let me know what you think!

Cheers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

