Project Dream Home: Dining Room

I mentioned in  the last “project dream home” post that our living room and dining room open into each other. The entire second floor is an open floor plan. This will give you an idea…

PLEASE keep in mind this is NOT our furniture...heavens no.
PLEASE keep in mind this is NOT our furniture…heavens no.

Because the plan is so open we will use the same color scheme throughout these rooms.

for all of 2nd floor

 

There are 2 decks that come off the dining room which means lots of sunlight (yay!). The dining room is enormous, way bigger than the actual kitchen, which is not ideal. Eventually we would love to expand the kitchen into the dining room so we can have more counter space, but until then we must work with what we have. Here’s another view of the dining room. I love the large white cabinets at the end of the room, just not quite sure what to use them for…

redwall

 

CanNOT wait to paint this room! Here’s one more photo with a different angle…

all walls seafoam? coordinate with living room champagne?

 

I have no clue what to do in this room because we are so not formal dining room people. When buying a home I imagined we’d get one with a cozy kitchen nook like this:

breakfast nook

 

However, we do have people over very often, so I have no doubts that we will use this room a lot. I just need a way to make it look more like us; casual, fun and comfortable. Of course, I still want a giant chandelier to pretty it up.

kind.of.like.this.look

I like the idea of mismatched chairs too. I always loved that Monica had mismatched chairs in her kitchen on FriendsIt looks like the kind of house you can visit, put your elbows on the table, accidentally spill your wine and not worry about using the wrong fork.

good.colors.good with living room mismatchedchairs more.mismatched

I have seen lots of coffee bar ideas on Pinterest that I love, and it’s obvious that my house will need one of these.

part.of.whitecabinets in dining room turned into coffee bar

Haven’t decided where it will go yet, but I will need this picture next to it…

acb7b7e29727b84ccd0b2d0c3dc556c2

 

What do you think? mismatched, informal and cozy? Or no?

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “Project Dream Home: Dining Room”

  1. I likw cozy 🙂 not a big fan of mismatched but I’m also not creative enough to pull that look off. You on the other hand can…no matter what you do I know it will look great!

    1. that’s nice of you to say…and I think I am creative, but when it comes to decorating I’m not so great! I have a lot of studying to do! Maybe I should invest in some Martha Stewart and Nate Berkus books.

Leave a Reply

