Project Dream Home: Living Room

I have endured long distance a lot in mine and Husband’s relationship. It’s never been easy, but we make it work. I always say “if you can endure long distance you can endure anything in your relationship”. I have also been through  decorating and painting with Husband. Making these types of decisions is not easy either, and typically ends in a fight…..and eventually Husband apologizing. NOW, I can officially announce that being in a long distance relationship while also decorating your first house is just ridiculously hard. 

Thankfully, I have you to help me. My latest “pins” have been for our living room. I’ll give you a little idea of what I have to work with…

820_living_4

 

I stole this photo from the online advertisements for our house. It’s just one corner of the living room, but I wanted to show the doors out to the deck. Mostly I wanted you to see the horrible furniture and decor set up in the house before we bought it. Also, you get a glimpse of the black and while tile fire-place. What is not seen here is stairway, the other half of the room (where the TV will go), and the open side that goes in to the dining room. This whole level is very open. It flows between the kitchen, dining room, living room and 2 decks. 

My main goal with the living room is to keep it cozy. I love oversized couches, super soft furniture that you sink into, blankets and a touch of nature. Luckily, we will have lots of natural light. We have lots of visitors and people stay with us no matter where we live, so I want all of our guests to feel right at home in our living room. 

In this photo I love the giant windows, the indoor tree, the exposed wood, and white couches.

livingroom5

I love the L-shaped couch in this next one. I hate sectionals, but this is okay. I’ll take the dog too. I also like the bright pops of color.

living room3

Windows! Windows! Windows! I want this much sunshine in my house everyday! I love the neutral colors and the bright salmon colored table in the middle. 

coloredtable

The next one is pretty girly, but doesn’t it make you want to sit down with your best friend, drink tea and gossip about all your other friends?

living room

Love the couch with the blue striped down the middle. The green plants add the perfect amount of color. Obviously, I love these windows. The exposed ceiling is nice too. 

living room2

I am actually a terrible decorator, but Pinterest and the free magazines at all the fancy furniture stores here have helped me a lot. I plan to just mimic my favorite setups. I can recognize when something looks good, I just can’t create that “look” on my own. (In case you didn’t notice our NY apartment was green and purple, like the Incredible Hulk, not my best decision.) I am pretty crafty though…although I haven’t done any “crafts” in a couple of years. Hopefully, it will all come back to me because I plan on creating some not-too-hard money-saving pieces like this coffee table below. This tutorial makes it look doable. 

coffeetable

Hopefully, we can easily re-tile our fireplace too.

tile fireplace

Husband is very strongly against having neon green walls again, so I think we are going to go with this color scheme instead.

colorscheme

 

What do you think?

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Project Dream Home: Living Room”

  1. Watch all of those HGTV Shows. They show how to do it DIY style. My mom loves them and has gotten a lot of ideas for our soon to be new kitchen and the bathrooms that we start at the end of the month. I love your color choices for the living room. Maybe ask/hire a decorator to help you get started and to give you all the options that are available in your price range.

Leave a Reply

