Must. Have. Coffee

Last night I did not sleep. Like, at all. I put on Sabrina assuming I’d drift off to Audrey’s pleasant voice and dream of attending culinary school in Paris. I did not. Next, I put on season 4 of Boy Meets World…which played until my alarm went off. At one point, I started to drift off, but dreamed that our apartment was infested with rats (the big kind that live in the train stations). I woke up terrified and positive that rats were crawling across the floor. Needless to say, I made my coffee extra strong this morning.

No day is easy on little to no sleep, but working with children is excruciating. How is it that every child has unlimited amounts of energy!? My job is more or less to exhaust them. It never works. The only person panting and running for the water fountain at the end of an hour-long intense cardio-type class is me. My zombie state today mostly consisted of me pretending to be excited and full of energy. At one point I started singing “Good Time” in order to hold my eyes open and thankfully my class of 5 year olds quickly joined in and sang along.

The sleepless night left me with a migraine and a twitching left eye as well. I wear many hats in my job which means I run from place to place all day long on a strict schedule. I was so delirious today that I showed up late to 3 classes and went to the wrong class twice. Thankfully, everyone at my job is either understanding or oblivious.

I keep saying I am going to cut back to one cup of a coffee a day, but today I didn’t even feel guilty when I ran across the street to Starbucks for a midday iced coffee. As I ordered coffee with a friend from work we decided to eat lunch and drink our coffee outside because it was 80 degrees outside. 80 DEGREES. We took our shoes off, rolled up our yoga pants and within minutes a few more co-workers joined us and we sun-bathed through our entire lunch break.

Wow. What a difference some vitamin D makes. After lunch, every one of us returned happier, warmer and energized. I think I forgot what warmth felt like; this has been the longest winter ever!

So, the cure to a sleepless night: iced coffee and sunbathing. It does a body good.

Tonight, I am going to bed with the windows open, some sleepy-time tea and a good book. Let’s see if this works!

Cheers!

*If you read the post before I updated it, then you probably noticed that I’m so sleepy I couldn’t even insert the link to the video correctly. I give up. Good night!

2 thoughts on “Must. Have. Coffee”

  1. When I am at work and in the after school part of my day. My kids run laps around the gym for tickets (which can be traded in for prizes) the second time we are in the gym. They love it! When their parents come in they always hope that their child/children are worn out. One day one of my kindergarten girls was serious about running laps. She was up to either 25 or 30 laps and her dad walked in and asked how many laps she had done. When I told him, he said oh man, we are going to the Home Show (the Home Show is in Pittsburgh’s big conference center; its HUGE!) tonight. She is not going to be able to walk tomorrow. Haha maybe she will sleep in! On Monday, he said she wouldn’t walk because her legs were so sore! Lol

Leave a Reply

