My 15 Minutes of Japanese Fame

I got an email a few days ago from Fuji TV asking to meet and interview me. They are doing a segment on their morning show Mezamashi TV (it’s Japan’s equivalent to Good Morning America — my favorite morning show) on hadoken-ing. They found my recent hadoken photos on my Facebook, and contacted me. *If you don’t know what hadoken-ing then you must click here.

In case you are wondering Fuji TV is the largest commercial broadcasting company in Japan. They are also the producers of Iron Chef. They have a base here in NYC and their director flew in to interview us! We got up early this morning (my least favorite thing to do on Sundays) and met the crew in Time Square.

IMG_5480

We did the beginning of the interview in Time Square and all of it in Japanese. The director would ask us questions like “What is hadoken?” and “When did the trend begin in the U.S?”. Then, the translator would translate and we would answer the director in English. After several questions we headed back into the subway station to re-create the photos we took with Sara last week.

This is one of our original photos with Sara.

IMG_5885

And, here is one of the recreated photos from the News shoot.

IMG_5483

We continued the interview in the station. I taught the director how to do the pictures (not that it is hard), and we had to take many breaks as the train and dozens of people trampled by us.

IMG_5484 IMG_5485

We also tried a new move…looks powerful…and painful.

IMG_5482

The crew was super friendly and so appreciative of our willingness to hangout with them all morning. We had a lot of fun and I’m looking forward to becoming a celebrity in Japan. So, Fuji TV, feel free to fly me out to Tokyo at anytime to meet all my adoring fans…I’m ready.

IMG_5474

They’ll send me the segment after it airs, and if I don’t look and sound like an idiot then I will be happy to share it with you.

After our hard work I treated Husband to a hearty breakfast at the smallest little diner/dive in our neighborhood that we have somehow never tried.

IMG_5479

Mmmm I love Sunday brunch. Husband is now in Tennessee to finish up the house stuff and Belle and I are left to fend for ourselves for a couple of weeks. I plan on learning to cook one dish during this time. Just one, I’m a realist.

Cheers and Sayonara!

3 thoughts on “My 15 Minutes of Japanese Fame”

Leave a Reply

