A Manhattan Wonderland

We experienced our first New York Blizzard last night and today, and I have to say I LOVED the experience! I grew up in Texas so naturally, I am not a fan of cold weather, but snow is different. The snow is beautiful, peaceful and so much fun! We stayed up all night watching the snow quickly fall and pile up. We even took Belle for a midnight walk. We just could not get enough of our wonderland.

The blizzard from our window last night.
The blizzard from our window last night.

I got up at 6am to get a look at the neighborhood before the doormen began shoveling and the snowplows cleared the road. It was unbelievable. Everything was covered in a foot of snow! I wish I would have taken a photo, but I was too sleepy to remember, and by 6:15 the shoveling began. Not too long after I had to head to work for only half an hour, yay! I must say “snow days” are way more exciting as an adult than as a child. Teachers watch the weather like a hawk, and snow days are like Christmas for us!

After I checked the phones lines and messages at work (being a manager brings exciting duties), it was off to the park!

steps snowplow parkave

We have never seen the park so crowded! It was like an amusement park for sledders. We could barely walk down the path without clotheslining a toddler with Belle’s leash or being wiped out by a speeding sled. We loved it!

IMG_4360 IMG_4361

Belle was hilarious. She is our child so like the other parents we were taking pictures and videoing her “snow day”. I don’t know how much she enjoyed the snow, but she enjoyed spending the day with her loving parents.

IMG_4373

Belle's face after falling in a foot of snow!
Belle’s face after falling in a foot of snow!

People were sledding in literally every vicinity of the park….even down the steps at Bethesda fountain.

stepsb

We walked around the park for about two hours. We decided to turn back once we reached the bottom and got a Waffle and Dinges snack.

IMG_4369 IMG_4380 benches IMG_4398 wonderland IMG_4417 IMG_4404 IMG_4406 IMG_4411 alice IMG_4463

It was a perfect day topped off with homemade vegetable soup and hot cocoa. I love snow days!

Cheers!

17 thoughts on “A Manhattan Wonderland”

  1. I love your pictures! I thought NYC was beautiful in the summer, but it is even more beautiful with a foot of snow and sun! I think living in Erie for 6 years made me love the snow. It makes everything quiet and sparkly! Enjoy your snowy days. It’s true teachers love snow days!

Leave a Reply

