My Biggest Adult Decision

Husband and I with one of our best friends 5 years ago...so young.
Husband and I with one of our best friends 5 years ago…so young.

Husband and I have been together for 8 years this February, and we have been married for almost 8 months. Throughout our relationship we have made lots of big choices together….

Do we stay together during a very long distance relationship? Do we move to Tennessee or Texas? Blonde or Brunette? Keep a cat or give it to Zoey? Toyota or Honda? Verizon or T-Mobile? New York or Albania? Manhattan or Brooklyn? Disney wedding or Tennessee country wedding?  Stay in New York for one year or two?

One year or two. That’s it. That was the option I laid out for us.

Since as long as I can remember I have had my entire life planned out. Sure, I leave room for spontaneity here and there, but mostly I have plans. However, life loves to take that plan and say “Hah. HAH!”

I planned to graduate college in three years and marry my high school sweet heart, but life threw in a few affairs, heartache, and a little depression. My life was turned into a lifetime movie in mere minutes one horrifying afternoon. I felt like I could trust no one (including myself), and I just needed to leave. I needed a fresh start…far, far away.

Obviously, I chose to runaway to the Happiest Place on Earth to work on the Disney College Program. So, no, I didn’t graduate insanely fast and get married too young to the wrong guy. Instead, I made some of the best friends and memories I could ever imagine, and Uh, met HUSBAND.

After Disney, I had an entire new list of life plans. Most of these also changed…I planned to marry Husband in 3 years, but he chose 7. This was not easy to accept, but boy am I glad we waited…we could not be happier with our relationship.

I planned to get my Doctorate, and quickly become an administrator, but life threw me a desire to live and work abroad. I made a few friends who chose this path, and they were such an inspiration to me that I quit my job literally a day after I got tenure, and shortly after moved to Albania.

I planned to stay in New York for only one year, but job opportunities encouraged me to stay for two.

One year or two.

We obviously chose two. We have now lived here for a year and a half, and I have already made big plans for what’s next: move back to Tennessee, buy a house, get a job with my former school, and start having some babies. (This baby fever has not broke!) BUT, life has stepped up to the plate and thrown us some more curve balls.

Turns out…we love New York. Husband loves everything about the ciy. I LOVE my job. Belle loves Central Park. In fact, after lots of discussion neither of us wants to leave. I threw out my Tennessee plans, and now we have new New York plans!

Recently we made our most grown-up decision ever.

We have decided to buy, for the very first time, a home. We have been renting for 5 years now, and we are finally ready to be homeowners. I have no idea where to start, who to talk to, or what the hell we are doing, but we are doing it! I’m so excited and scared at the same time!

I should not feel nervous. Husband and I tend to make good decisions together, but this is HUGE. Buying a home here means we are going to be here a while…like more than two years, which is definitely our record for living in one place! We are going to plant roots…dare I say, “settle”. That’s a scary word. My anxiety has been through the roof just digesting this decision. Deep breaths…

The search for a Manhattan apartment, a Brooklyn condo, and a home and Westchester have all begun. Wish us luck, we are certainly going to need it I cannot wait to begin this new adventure!

Cheers!

8 thoughts on “My Biggest Adult Decision”

  1. Oh my gosh! This is so exciting! I have been running that idea in my mind but haven’t bit the bullet yet! So wonderful for you…now WE just have to meet up!

Leave a Reply

