Turkey Day in Texas

Spending Thanksgiving in Texas went as expected….lots of food, lots of family, and lots of new memories. My family is enormous. Every family occasion involves at least 40 people.

This is only my Mother’s side, and only half of us!

Having a giant family is fun because every event is like a giant party with way too much food. The downside is that there are so many of us its impossible to stay in touch with everyone. Most people I only see once a year (if that), and when I do see them I am trying to play catch up with everyone.

Turkey, ham, and homemade chicken and dumplings are all part of our Thanksgiving tradition.

Thank God for Facebook. I can at least stay half caught up by stalking everyone’s walls. With a family this big we have a new baby, new engagement, new divorce, or some other big occasion always happening.

Some beautiful cousins
The only way to have room for everyone is to eat in the garage!
Caught! ….and I was wondering how that dog was getting so chunky…

On Thanksgiving, for example, we were also celebrating my and my Mother’s Birthday, a cousin’s recent engagement was revealed, and my sister announced that she’s having a baby boy!

Yay!!!

Of course, all of this good news is accompanied with gossip, secrets, and a little bit of awkwardness, but what’s a family affair without an ounce of drama?

and a lasso contest

Let’s not forget the family games!

We aren’t the most athletic family, but we enjoy our volleyball tournaments.

Keep in touch Texas; I’ll be back in January!

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “Turkey Day in Texas”

Leave a Reply

