Me, Audrey, and a Rooftop Bar

I LOVE Breakfast at Tiffany’sthe book and the movie. I also adore Audrey Hepburn. I think this obsession began about 7 years ago while eating dinner with Husband’s Grandpa. I ate a large pork chop, mashed potatoes, broccoli, a salad, three rolls, and was picking off of Husband’s place when his Grandpa looked at me and said, “How do you eat like that and still look like Audrey Hepburn?!”

At the time, I only knew Audrey as the girl in the black dress, black flats, and pearls. Like any good student, I began researching the actress I was compared to, and instantly fell in love. Now I can’t pass an Audrey biography or movie without picking it up. I know I don’t actually look like her, but it’s awfully nice to hear. Thanks Grandpa Shelly.

Yesterday, I saw an ad for a FREE movie night at the Roosevelt Hotel (the Mad46 Rooftop Lounge to be exact). I was definitely interested in a free movie night, but when I saw their selected feature was Breakfast at Tiffany’s, it was a done deal.

I was SOOO excited to go out, that I got all dolled up in Audrey’s honor. It’s great that I get to wear workout clothes to work everyday, but I do love an opportunity to put on my heels and fix my hair. Most of our “dates” involve me in sweatpants, Husband in flip-flops, frozen pizza, and a Dexter marathon. Tonight was different; tonight I wanted to feel pretty.

Check out the ad as I entered the Subway! I think that was a sign that it was going to be fabulous night for this TX girl.
I tried to convince Husband that I was too fancy to take the train…. As you can see, I was not very convincing.

The Roosevelt is beautiful, the lounge was swanky, and the staff was frazzled and awkward, but besides them, it was a great night to be on a roof wrapped in my poncho and enjoying the Manhattan view.

They had two projectors; one under a roof and one completely outside.
Movie themed cocktails!

After ordering my “Moon River Mojito” we settled onto a cozy couch right before the movie started playing. I loved every minute! Even Husband enjoyed it! (He has never seen Breakfast at Tiffany’s before!)

Sooo excited! (This was the BEST mojito I have ever had BTW.)

We didn’t make it home until midnight; mostly because Husband wanted to play “paparazzi”….and alittle because I needed a late night snack.

I had to take the poncho off for at least 5 minutes so my outfit could get some fresh air and much needed attention.
Perfect accessories for a Breakfast at Tiffany’s night.
Love this view with the Chrysler in the background.

This is as serious as I get.

finally getting back on the train

Even after sleeping through my alarm this morning and only having time to drink half a cup of coffee, I do not regret our middle of the week date night with Audrey.

Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Me, Audrey, and a Rooftop Bar”

Leave a Reply

