Do Not Chalk Your Hair

*If you are new to Positively Panicked, Welcome! Also, I have tried a new product called britelites since writing this post. It’s better and easier than chalking. You can check out my review here. Thanks for stopping by!

About two weeks ago, Husband got bit by ants, Texas fire ants to be exact. No big deal…except that he scratched and scratched until there was a gross open cut on the side of his foot. Now, two weeks later, it seems that that cut has become infected, sooo infected that Husband can barely walk, like AT ALL.

He has been trying to ignore it for a few days. We even made plans to spend the day at one of Manhattan’s many beaches this wekend, but when it took him ten minutes to walk the ONE block to Starbucks from our apartment I turned us around and called the doctor.

After some pouting, lots of sweating, a nervous stomach, and a rapid heartbeat, I finally survived Husband’s doctor appointment. Actually, I handled sitting with him much better than I predicted. Husband was of course an excellent patient and now he’s on bed/couch rest for a little while.

I tried to be on couch-rest with him for moral support, but I quickly got bored of watching him play video games, so I decided to do something worthwhile…like color my hair.

Several months ago, I attempted to color my hair with chalk. EVERYONE on Pinterest pins tutorials of super cute hairstyles with fun colors that they did with chalk. My previous attempt at this was a major fail. Since then, I’ve done some research and I found many more tutorials, how-tos, what-not-to-do’s, and so on. With my new knowledge I decided to give it another go.

Spoiler alert: I failed again.

In case you want to learn from my mistakes (AKA coloring my hair with chalk in the first place), continue reading my own steps.

(BTW, I took these pics with no makeup! A major milestone for me and my current, and probably temporary, clear complexion. Okay fine…I had on mascara, but that’s it!)

Hilarie’s How-to Ruin Your Hair With Chalk Tutorial

  1. Purchase soft pastels, you can get these at art stores. I could only find these primary colors at the one art store I went to, but pastels would be much prettier.

2. Grab about an inch of hair and wet it with a spray bottle or just wet the chalk. Some tutorials say not to wet your hair if you are blonde because it will stain. Others say you must wet it no matter what your color. The first time I tried it, I did it with dry hair and the color just brushed right out. This time, I used a spray bottle to wet each strand I used… and 3 days later my hair is still lightly stained.

3. Twist the wet inch of hair.

4. Rub the hair with chalk in a downward motion. Do NOT go against to grain, your hair will break and fall out. Do this until it’s dark and completely colored.

5. You should probably wear gloves. I do not have gloves.

6. Tada!  …and eww.

7. Okay this next step is another controversial step on the hair-chalking tutorials. Some sayyou should use a curling iron or straightener to set the color once your finished. Other tutorials skip this step altogether. Last time I skipped it; this time I tried using a curling iron. I could instantly tell my hair felt super dry and was near impossible to comb. I combed it really carefully from the tips, working my way up, and then curled it for just a few seconds.

after combing it…see how dry and gross it looks?
After curling it.

The end result looked okay, except the color doesn’t suit me. I would not suggest this to anyone, especially if they have dry hair already. My hair felt really dry and fragile for days, even after I used an overnight hair mask.

It’s also really messy. Besides the chalk all over my hands, I got chalk on my tee shirt and all over the floor. I’d love to recommend this because it looks like so much fun, but it’s just not worth the damage.

My dog didn’t seem to mind though…. Poor girl. I now call her “the dog on fire.”

Cheers!

15 thoughts on “Do Not Chalk Your Hair”

  1. Oh my gosh…I am cracking up at your dog! I have not seen “hair chalking” on pinterest yet, but the colors do look good on you!

  2. I was wondering how you were able to get the chalk out of your hair completely? I purchased the soft pastels from Michaels (Not oil), and accidently wet my blonde hair (which hasn’t been dyed for 3 months) and put turquoise and blue on my strands, as well as my blonde extensions. It’s been three days, and I’ve washed it three times (and shampooing it about 3 times each shower session) and I still have blue stained hair :(. Was there a specific product you used, or did you just have to go to the salon?

  3. Hi Hilary! Would love for you to try Britelites! I think you would be pleasantly surprised at the difference between this product and hair chalk. Shoot me an email if you are interested. 🙂

      1. Hi Hilary, I am new to your blog, and I found your post on hair chalking really helpful. About two weeks ago I had several peek-a-boo highlights of purple put in my hair. Since my hair is dark brown, my stylist had to bleach the strands first…which I’ve never done to my hair…so as much as I love the purple highlights, I’m trying to find less harsh alternatives to the dying process. Have you tried hair chalking since this post? Would you recommend the brand you received samples of, or any other brand?
        Thank you! 🙂

      2. Hi Sienna!! Thanks for commenting! So far the britelites samples I tried are the best thing I have found. BUT, I’ve only used chalks, hair mascara and britelites. I guess I should start looking at some more options because it is really fun to have some temporary color. I like adding in cool colors, but I never want them for more than a day or so…and of course I don’t want to class with an outfit haha! I’ll let you know if I find something else.

      3. Hi Hilary, I am new to your blog, and I found your post on hair chalking really helpful. About two weeks ago I had several peek-a-boo highlights of purple put in my hair. Since my hair is dark brown, my stylist had to bleach the strands first…which I’ve never done to my hair…so as much as I love the purple highlights, I’m trying to find less harsh alternatives to the dying process. Have you tried hair chalking since this post? Would you recommend the brand you received samples of, or any other brand?
        Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

