Perfect Last Day

My parent’s last day in NYC* was sunny and warm, and Central Park was definitely calling our names. We picked up bagels at the famous H&H and ate them in front of the reservoir as we watched the classic sailboats float by, being steered by clumsy preschoolers. We also watched a few middle-aged men drive around their personal miniature speed boats, battleships, and pirate ships.

This one even had it’s own theme music.

After breakfast, we walked them to Bethesda fountain, through the Ramble, to the large Sheep’s meadow, the Mall, to Shakespeare’s Garden, and basically to every pretty part in the southern half of the park.

While relaxing in Shakespeare’s garden, we spotted a beautiful bride and groom making their way through the garden. We couldn’t help, but stare and discuss whether we thought they just got married, or were about to get married. Within a few minutes, they had walked up to where we were relaxing, and the bride walked over to us and very politely asked if we would mind videoing their vows with her little camera. It turns out that the couple is from Canada, they are getting married all alone (besides the officiant and a photographer), and the bride wanted her vows videoed so her Mother could watch them later. We were more than happy to video the sweet ceremony for her.

They had the four of us, plus one more park-goer as their witnesses, and it was a really beautiful wedding! We were all a little extra sappy with thoughts of mine and Fiance’s nuptials right around the corner.

After what must have been miles around the park, we were famished. We hopped on a train to Union Square and had hotdogs and burgers at Dogmatic. The dogs just weren’t enough, so we had dessert at Chelsea Market. It was my Dad’s first time to have gelato!

That’s an asparagus dog. It’s mine, obviously. Also, we won a Dogmatic Dollar for solving this riddle, “When you take away the whole and some is still left…” **

We also took them to the high line, since we were so close. It’s not my favorite park…but it’s worth visiting to have my favorite popsicle. We tried a new flavor this time too, Mango and Chili. It was very spicy, and not near as good as my cucumber-lime -sicle sprinkled with chili.

Fiance and I started to feel a little bad for my parent’s blistered and sore feet, so we took them back to the apartment to rest.

But, only for 30 minutes, we had tickets to see Rock of Ages! My Dad has never seen a Broadway show, so we wanted to be sure to pick one he would love. I have seen Rock of Ages 5 times now, and I’ve yet to tire of it. Rock of Ages is basically all the best 80’s songs turned into a hilarious story full of 80’s jokes, neon, animal print, strippers, alcohol, crazy dance moves, a sweet love story, and phenomenal singing.

I am a sucker for beautiful dances and beautiful voices. I get goosebumps anytime I hear or see someone super talented. Idina Menzal gives me goosbumps anytime she opens her mouth. Some of the students I used to teach in TN would gave me goosebumps when they’d perform. I have a friend who gets goosebumps when watching someone draw or paint. In fact, she once got goosebumps when I drew Spongebob SquarePants on a blackboard. So, I don’t feel so weird about the goosebump thing…

Some performances even bring me to tears. I cry while watching Dancing With the Stars, Glee, and basically every musical I’ve ever seen. While watching the finale of Rock of Ages for the 5th time, I wiped the tears from my eyes, and thought how weird I am for crying (they were fist pumping and singing “Don’t Stop Believing” in a bar). I looked to my right and saw my Dad wipe tears from his own eyes. Then it all made sense.

Sometimes I forget how similar I am to my Dad. I wonder if he gets goosebumps too?

After the show, we strolled through Time Square to get some night time views.

I should also mention that we did a series of “dance dares” in the very large M&M store for about an hour. We videoed most of the dance dares, but I think I need to save that for its own blog! (If you aren’t familiar with dance dares, watch Ellen! Or just watch this…)

All that dancing apparently worked up an appetite because we stopped and had dinner at midnight at Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

And, that’s the end. We had so much fun with my parents! We stayed up too late, said goodbye in the morning, and reminded each other we’d see one another again in just a couple weeks!

Cheers!

*just kidding! My parent’s flight turned out to be canceled and they had to come back to our place and hangout for an extra day! We let them relax this time.

** Answer to the riddle? You didn’t figure it out??? It’s wholesome.

Leave a Reply

