DIY Skull T-Shirt

I do not typically love fashion pieces with skulls, but every so often a special piece catches my eye, and I immediately need it in my collection. For example, this top from Urban Outfitters…

…it was love at first sight.

I spotted this on Facebook one day and decided I HAD TO HAVE IT. It probably had a lot to do with the cutouts all over the back. I am such a sucker for anything with a cutout back.

I ran to the closest Urban Outfitters as soon as possible and rummaged the store for it. Just as I was about to give up I saw one of the employees wearing it! I basically attacked her to find out where the shirt was located. Much to my pleasant surprise, she told me it was on the clearance rack and it was 50% off! Woohoo!

Much to my horrible discovery, there was only x-larges left. I then trekked to the next closest Urban Outfitters, and found the same situation. I had just about given up on my new clothing obsession when Husband gave me some large tee’s he’d recently received from E3 (a video game convention). He didn’t want them, and said I could have them, or toss them.

I decided to craft with them, and craft number one was my own skull cutout tee.

The shirt: pre-craft.

It was a simple project, but tedious and time consuming. I simply pulled up the Urban Outfitters picture on my laptop, drew the holes with a pencil, and carefully cut them out with my best pair of scissors. Voila! It’s a little bigger then a I prefer, and there are a few words left on it, but it will do.

I took the shirt out on the town, and ironically, Zoey happened to have on a skeleton tank top, so we had a little fun taking pictures waiting for the train.

Here’s the shirt in Chelsea Market.

Then, I took it for a walk in Grand Central Station.

This is the best view I got of the front…

I still have 3 more large men’s tee shirts to play with, anyone have another easy craft I can do? I’m all ears…and scissors!

Cheers!

6 thoughts on “DIY Skull T-Shirt

  1. Love it!! This is a link to an upcycle I found on Pinterest. I had a go myself using one of my husbands t’s (found out it wasn’t exactly an old one afterwards, but nevermind…) it involves a little sewing, but it’s very easy and so lush!

    http://www.crafterhoursblog.com/2011/08/tee-to-tank-tutorial-by-jen-from.html

    And here’s a couple more that I’ve yet to try but love…

    http://www.cutoutandkeep.net/projects/tshirt_shrug

    http://www.tipjunkie.com/hot-yoga-pants/

    http://www.trashtocouture.com/2012/02/diy-fringe-sleeveseam-tee.html

  2. Pingback: DIY Cross T-shirt | Positively Panicked

Leave a Reply

